Kenmore Mercy Receive Second Consecutive Magnet Designation

Nov 10, 2022Kenmore Mercy Hospital, News & PR

Remains only hospital in WNY to receive elite award for its commitment to nursing excellence

Kenmore Mercy Hospital attained Magnet recognition for the second time, a testament to its continued dedication to high-quality nursing practice. The American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Magnet Recognition Program® distinguishes healthcare organizations that meet rigorous standards for nursing excellence. This credential is  the highest national honor for professional nursing practice.

Receiving Magnet recognition for the second time is a great achievement for the Catholic Health hospital, as it continues to proudly belong to the global Magnet community – a small, select group of healthcare organizations and hospitals in the U.S.

“Magnet recognition is a tremendous honor and reflects our commitment to deliver the highest quality care to our patients and community,” said Heather Telford, Vice President of Patient Care Services at Kenmore Mercy Hospital. “To earn Magnet recognition once is a great accomplishment and incredible source of pride for our nurses. To repeat this achievement underscores the foundation of excellence and hard work that drives our entire staff to raise the bar even further.”

Research demonstrates that Magnet recognition provides specific benefits to healthcare organizations and their communities, such as:

  • Higher patient satisfaction.
  • Lower risk of 30-day mortality and failure to rescue rates.
  • Higher job satisfaction among nurses.
  • Higher nurse retention.

Magnet recognition is the gold standard for nursing excellence and a factor when the public judges healthcare organizations. U.S. News & World Report’s annual showcase of “America’s Best Hospitals” includes Magnet recognition in its ranking criteria for quality of inpatient care.

The Magnet Model provides a framework for nursing practice, research, and measurement of outcomes. Through this framework, ANCC evaluates applicants across a number of components and dimensions deemed essential to delivering superior patient care. These include the quality of nursing leadership and coordination and collaboration across specialties, as well as processes for measuring and improving the quality and delivery of care.

To achieve initial Magnet recognition, organizations must pass a rigorous and lengthy process that demands widespread participation from leadership and staff. This process includes an electronic application, written patient care documentation, an on-site visit, and a review by the Commission on Magnet Recognition.

Healthcare organizations must reapply for Magnet recognition every four years based on adherence to Magnet concepts and demonstrated improvements in patient care and quality. An organization reapply-ing for Magnet recognition must provide documented evidence to demonstrate how staff members sustained and improved Magnet concepts, performance and quality over the four-year period since the organization received its initial recognition.

“We’re a better organization today because of the Magnet recognition we first achieved,” said Walt Ludwig, President of Kenmore Mercy Hospital. “Magnet recognition, along with other national quality awards we consistently receive, inspires every member of our team to achieve excellence every day. It is this commitment to providing our community with high-quality care that helped us become a Magnet-recognized organization, and it’s why we continue to pursue and maintain Magnet recognition.”