Mount St. Mary’s Receives Get with the Guidelines-Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award

Jun 12, 2018Mount St. Mary’s Hospital, News & PR

American Heart Association Award recognizes Mount St. Mary’s commitment to quality stroke care

Mount St. Mary’s Hospital has received the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Get With The Guidelines®-Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award. The award recognizes the hospital’s commitment to ensuring stroke patients receive the most appropriate treatment according to nationally recognized, research-based guidelines based on the latest scientific evidence.

Mount St. Mary’s earned the award by meeting specific quality achievement measures for the diagnosis and treatment of stroke patients at a set level for a designated period. These measures include evaluation of the proper use of medications and other stroke treatments aligned with the most up-to-date, evidence-based guidelines with the goal of speeding recovery and reducing death and disability for stroke patients. Before discharge, patients should also receive education on managing their health, get a follow-up visit scheduled, as well as other care transition interventions.

“Mount St. Mary’s is dedicated to improving the quality of care for our stroke patients by implementing the American Heart Association’s Get With The Guidelines-Stroke initiative,” said Neurologist Gregory Sambuchi, MD, who heads the Mount St. Mary’s Stroke Team.  “The tools and resources provided help us track and measure our success in meeting evidenced-based clinical guidelines developed to improve patient outcomes.”

According to the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association, stroke is the No. 5 cause of death and a leading cause of adult disability in the United States. On average, someone in the U.S. suffers a stroke every 40 seconds and nearly 795,000 people suffer a new or recurrent stroke each year.


Members of the Emergency Department team gathered to accept the Get With The Guidelines-Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award. 

Header image (from left to right): Lindie Pringle, RN; Neurologist Dr. Gregory Sambuchi, head of the hospital’s Stroke Team; Stroke Coordinator Rosanne Schiavi; Emergency Department Medical Director Dr. Marc Klementowski; Janice Newman, Emergency Department Unit Secretary; Jacqueline Jablonski, RN; and Kadie Curry, RN, Staff Director of the Emergency Department.